The Scandinavian Conference on Image Analysis (SCIA) is a biennial conference on computer vision, image analysis, and pattern recognition. It has been held since 1980 in the scandinavian countries Sweden, Denmark, Norway and Finland. In 2019, SCIA will return to Linköping University, Sweden, where the first conference was held in 1980. However, this time it will be in the nearby city of Norrköping, which hosts the Norrköping Campus of Linköping University.

The conference will be co-located with the Swedish Symposium on Deep Learning (SSDL), which takes place on June 10-11. For more information on SSDL, please see the symposium webpage.

Proceedings of the conference will be published in the Springer Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series.




Keynote speakers

Laura Leal-Taixe
  • Laura Leal-Taixé
  • Professor, Technical University of Munich

  • Prof. Laura Leal-Taixé is leading the Dynamic Vision and Learning group at the Technical University of Munich, Germany. She received her Bachelor and Master degrees in Telecommunications Engineering from the Technical University of Catalonia (UPC), Barcelona. She did her Master Thesis at Northeastern University, Boston, USA and received her PhD degree (Dr.-Ing.) from the Leibniz University Hannover, Germany.

    During her PhD she did a one-year visit at the Vision Lab at the University of Michigan, USA. She also spent two years as a postdoc at ETH Zurich, Switzerland and one year at the Technical University of Munich. In 2017, she won the Sofja Kovalevskaja Award of 1.65 million euros from the presitgious Humboldt Foundation for her project "socialMaps".

Lourdes Agapito
  • Lourdes Agapito
  • Professor, University College London

  • Lourdes Agapito holds the position of Professor of 3D Vision in the Department of Computer Science at University College London (UCL). Her research in Computer Vision has focused on the inference of 3D information from the video acquired from a single moving camera. While early research focused on static scenes, attention soon turned to the much more challenging problem of estimating the 3D shape of non-rigid objects (Non-Rigid Structure from Motion, NR-SFM) or complex dynamic scenes where an unknown number of objects might be moving, possibly deforming, independently. Prof. Agapito's research group investigates all theoretical and practical aspects of NRSFM: deformable tracking; dense optical flow estimation and non-rigid video registration; 3D reconstruction of deformable and articulated structure and dense 3D modelling of non-rigid dynamic scenes.

Fred Hamprecht
  • Fred Hamprecht
  • Professor, University of Heidelberg

  • Fred Hamprecht holds the Robert-Bosh endowed professorship for Image Analysis and Learning at the University of Heidelberg. His research interests lie in image processing and machine learning, in particular active learning. With his group, he develops automated diagnostic systems with applications both in industrial quality control and the life sciences. Major applications include connectomics, tracking of all cells in a developing embryo and quantitative analysis of high-throughput experiments. The group puts particular emphasis on the the user-friendly training of such systems, and is actively developing open source libraries and program suites such as Ilastik. Prof. Hamprecht studied and earned his PhD at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH), and became a Professor for Multidimensional Image Processing at the University of Heidelberg in 2001. He is a co-founder of the Heidelberg Collaboratory for Image Processing (HCI).


The main topics of SCIA 2019 include:

  • 3D vision
  • Color and multispectral image analysis
  • Computational imaging and graphics
  • Faces and gestures
  • Feature extraction and segmentation
  • Biometrics
  • Document analysis
  • Matching, registration and alignment
  • Medical and biomedical image analysis
  • Motion analysis and tracking
  • Object and scene recognition
  • Machine learning and pattern recognition
  • Remote sensing image analysis
  • Robot vision
  • Video and multimedia analysis
  • IR image processing
  • Deep convolutional neural networks
  • Signal processing and applications

Submission information and guidelines will be made available here closer to the paper submission opening.

Call for papers

The first call for papers can be downloaded here.


Registration information will be made available here.



Accomodation information will be made available here.


Norrköping is located approximately 1.5 hours south of Stockholm. From the 17th century to the middle of the 20th century, it was the place of a number of large industries located along the Motala river that floats through the city. The city was a large producer of textiles, and has often been nicknamed "Sweden's Manchester". Today, the former industries have been restorated and transformed into a unique environment that hosts a number of innovative companies, museums, conference center, the Visualization Center C, as well as the Norrköping Campus of Linköping University.

For more information about Norrköping, see for example the experience Norrköping website.

Important dates

Paper submission opens December 3, 2018
Paper submission deadline January 30, 2019
Notification of acceptance March 21, 2019
Submission of camera ready manuscript April 3, 2019
Early-bird registration deadline April 3, 2019
Conference June 11-13, 2019


Our sponsorship packages offer a unique opportunity to:

  1. Network with the leading research groups in the Nordic countries
  2. Gain visibility before, during, and after the conference
  3. Meet and recruit undergraduate students, graduated or soon to graduate PhD students

Choose one of our sponsorship options:

A. Silver sponsorship, SEK 10,000

  1. Your logo on the conference website
  2. Acknowledgement of your support during the conference

B. Gold sponsorship, SEK 15,000

  1. All Silver sponsorship & Exhibitor benefits
  2. Distribution of short materials (brochure, bag items) that you provide in advance

C. Exhibitor, SEK 10,000

  1. Demonstration & exhibition space for demonstrations and promotional material
  2. One free ticket to the conference included

For more information and booking, please contact Daniel Jönsson.


General Chair

  • Jonas Unger
  • Department of Science and Technology
  • Linköping University
  • jonas.unger@liu.se

Program Chairs

Web Chair

Sponsors Chair

International program committee

Adrien Bartoli adrien.bartoli@gmail.com Université Clermont Auvergne
Atsuto Maki atsuto@kth.se KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Cristina Soguero Ruiz cristina.soguero@urjc.es Rey Juan Carlos University
Erkki Oja erkki.oja@hut.fi Aalto University, Finland
Fredrik Kahl fredrik@maths.lth.se Lund Univeristy
Gustau Camps-Valls gcamps@uv.es University of Valencia
Heikki Kälviäinen heikki.kalviainen@lut.fi Lappeenranta University of Technology
Ingela Nyström ingela.nystrom@it.uu.se Uppsala University
Janne Heikkila janne.heikkila@ee.oulu.fi University of Oulu, Finland
Jens T. Thielemann jens.t.thielemann@sintef.no SINTEF
Joni-Kristian Kamarainen joni.kamarainen@tut.fi Tampere University of Technology, Finland
Kalle Åström kalle@maths.lth.se Lund University
Kjersti Engan kjersti.engan@uis.no University of Stavanger
Lasse Østergaard lasse@hst.aau.dk Aalborg University
Lorenzo Livi l.livi@exeter.ac.uk University of Exeter
Mads Nielsen madsn@di.ku.dk University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Rasmus Paulsen rapa@dtu.dk DTU Compute
Robert Jenssen robert.jenssen@uit.no UiT - The Arctic University of Norway
Simone Scardapane simone.scardapane@uniroma1.it Sapienza University
Thomas Moeslund tbm@create.aau.dk Aalborg University
Volker Krueger volker.krueger@cs.lth.se LTH
Anders Heyden anders.heyden@math.lth.se Lund Institute of Technology, Sweden
Kim Pedersen kimstp@di.ku.dk University of Copenhagen
Helene Schulerud helene.schulerud@sintef.no SINTEF